Saturday, June 23, 2007

New 7 Wonders of the World

A new campaign is underway to select the new 7 wonders of the world. Here's are several current lists for comparison.

The nominated monuments are pretty old, and despite their fame and history, many are in dire need of maintenance. Winning the title of one of the new 7 wonders will provide the much needed funds for restoration and care. Personally, I had no idea that an architectural wonder as recognized around the world as the Taj Mahal needs a lot of work and care to keep the structure from slowly crumbling away.

The final nominees are:

Acropolis, Athens, Greece
Alhambra, Granada, Spain
Angkor, Cambodia
Chichen Itza, Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico
Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Colosseum, Rome, Italy
Easter Island Statues, Easter Island, Chile
Eiffel Tower, Paris, France
Great Wall, China
Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey
Klyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan
Kremlin / St. Basil, Moscow, Russia
Machu Picchu, Peru
Neuschwanstein Castle, Schwangau, Germany
Petra, Jordan
Statue of Liberty, New York City, U.S.A.
Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom
Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia
Taj Mahal, Agra, India
Timbuktu, Mali

You can vote online or vote via text message.

I know who I'm voting for. Ooo the excitement!!

The winners will be announced on lucky 7/7/07.